2022-05-26 11:00:00 - New York, NY, United States - (PR Distribution™)


New York, NY – May 26, 2022 – The Telly Awards, the world’s largest honor for video and television content across all screens, announced Media Smart Citizens among this year’s winners. The animated Express Your Power videos were named Best Online Series in Discovery & Education by the 43rd Annual Telly Awards. Additionally, the four individual episodes were recognized with awards. 

Inspired by witnessing a nationwide racial reckoning as cross-cultural individuals united in protest for social justice, the Express Your Power series explores the relationship between media, civil rights, and social change. Answering how one can responsibly exercise their freedom of expression with media is the Express Your Power series’ focus. It introduces the First Amendment as the foundation of respect for others and a central human right in America. Emphasizing the significance of personal truth-telling and educating storytellers on the many media formats and resources they can use to tell their stories – the series fosters community building. Gaining more insight into each other's life experiences promotes better social inclusion and strengthens our democracy.

Media Smart Citizens is a diverse community of individuals championing the advancement of media and information literacy. Celebrating the Express Your Power series wins, Media Smart Citizens’ Founder and Executive Producer Linda Saint Marc comments, “We are deeply honored to be recognized by the prestigious Telly Awards for the quality of our work and proud to be empowering personal storytelling through an innovative media literacy initiative for social good.” 

Taking an innovative public pedagogy approach, Media Smart Citizens is reaching an audience of learners around the world and inspiring them to contribute to the global narrative. Media Smart Citizens invites schools and libraries nationwide to collaborate on our initiatives. The Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) in New York City is screening the Express You Power series on its website and developed Resource Guides for each episode’s topic focus. To view the four-part series and accompanying educational resource guides, visit: libguides.nypl.org/mediasmartcitizens

“Now, more than ever, it is necessary to celebrate video work that reflects the top tier of our industry, such as Media Smart Citizens,” states Telly Awards Executive Director Sabrina Dridje. “This year’s submissions reflect an industry that has returned to the important work of storytelling, one that has returned with a new perspective that values innovation, agility, equity, and tenacious creativity.”

Telly Award winners represent work from some of the most respected advertising agencies, television stations, production companies, and publishers worldwide. Over 12,000 global entries were judged by The Telly Awards Judging Council - an industry body of over 200 leading experts reflective of the multiscreen industry. Telly Awards Executive Director, Sabrina Dridje remarks, “Telly Award Winners are the standard-bearer of excellence in our industry.” Other winners this year include Al Jazeera Media Network, ViacomCBS, Warner Bros. Worldwide TV Marketing, Sony Music Entertainment, ESPN, PBS Digital Studios, Comcast, Freethink, Feed the Children, CTRL5, Square, In The Know by Yahoo, Microsoft, Crunchyroll, Telemundo and Fast Company. 


Advancing media engagement and creation through community learning, Media Smart Citizens empowers individuals with essential 21st-century skills. Leading experts and organizations worldwide agree that media and information literacy is a human right that promotes greater social inclusion. 

People spend nearly half of their waking hours interacting with media. Our mission is to provide citizens with accessible media knowledge to critically examine content, evaluate sources, and use technology smartly to express themselves. Media Smart Citizens is a member of The UNESCO MIL Alliance, a groundbreaking effort to promote international cooperation to ensure that all citizens have access to media and information competencies.

Media Smart Citizens is powered by a team of media experts, students, and alumni of The New School Media Management Graduate Program and Parsons School of Design, collaborating with staff at The Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library of The New York Public Library. The Express Your Power video series, funded in part by The New School’s University Student Senate, was featured at the 2021 National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE) conference, the 2022 American Library Association’s ALA LibLearnX Conference, and selected for a 2022 Fine Cuts award.

For inquiries, please contact:

Miranda Gilbert, Series Marketing Director, Media Smart Citizens at mediasmartcitizens@gmail.com

Find Media Smart Citizens Online:

Official Website: www.MediaSmartCitizens.com 

Express Your Power on NYPL.org: https://libguides.nypl.org/mediasmartcitizens  

Instagram: @MediaSmartCitizens


The Telly Awards is the premier award honoring video and television across all screens. Founded in 1979, The Telly Awards has continually refreshed its categories to honor the evolving, broad range of work being made — including branded content, social video, and animation — working with industry experts to identify categories where new platforms play an increasingly important role in how stories are being told. Partners of The Telly Awards include Video Consortium, Ghetto Film School, We Are Parable, Future of Film, IFP, LAPPG, NAB, Stash, NYWIFT, Production Hub, IFP, with support from The Commercial Director’s Diversity Program.

The Telly Awards receives over 12,000 entries from all 50 states and five continents. Entrants are judged by The Telly Awards Judging Council—an industry body of over 200 leading experts reflective of the multiscreen industry working with companies such as The judges are industry professionals at companies that include Adobe, BBC Global News, Netflix, Dow Jones, Duplass Brothers Productions, Complex Networks, A&E Networks, Hearst Media, NBC News, Nickelodeon, ESPN Films, RYOT Studio, Partizan, and Vimeo. Previous Telly Award Winners include AOL Studios, BET Networks, Bloomberg, CBS Interactive, Comcast, Conde Nast, DigiDojo, Discovery Communications, ESPN, FleishmanHillard, Fox, HBO, Hearst, HOBO, HuffPost, Indigo Films, IW Group, Microsoft, MLB, NBC, Ogilvy and Mather, Refinery29, SapientNitro, Story House, Team Coco Digital, The Guardian, The History Channel, Time Warner, Tiny Hero, Trailer Park, Viacom, VML, WSJ.  

The full list of the 43rd Annual Telly Awards winners can be found at www.tellyawards.com/winners


Media Contacts:

Full Name
Miranda Gilbert
Media Smart Citizens
Phone Number
View Results in Google